NC leaders agree on 13 office-bearers in party’s executive body



Kathmandu : The top leaders of the Nepali Congress have finally agreed on the number of the party office-bearers and their selection process following a long tug-of-war on the party’s draft statute.
Party spokesman Bishwa Prakash Sharma said the top leaders have agreed on having one president, two vice-presidents, two general-secretaries, seven joint general-secretaries and one treasurer. He said an agreement has been reached to select all the office-bearers except the treasurer through election. The party president shall pick the treasurer from among the elected central committee members.
According to the party spokesman, the agreement would be passed by the central committee meeting to be convened today itself.
The party is preparing to present the draft statute report in the Mahasamiti meeting tomorrow, after it is endorsed by the central committee. The main opposition party’s Mahasamiti meeting is underway in Kathmandu since December 15.
Agreement on the party’s draft statute had become elusive in the Mahasamiti meet before this due to the stance taken by the sides supporting party president Sher Bahadur Deuba and senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel.
The report related to the draft statute could not be presented in the Mahasamiti meeting due to this dispute.
The NC had constituted a Statute Amendment Drafting Committee coordinated by general-secretary Purna Bahadur Khadka for making amendments to the party statute in line with the federal system as provisioned by the constitution. Discussions were held in the central committee on the report prepared by the Drafting Committee from November 29 to December 8.
The Mahasamiti meeting scheduled earlier for December 15-18 extended due to failure to reach a consensus on party’s statute draft. The deadline for the meeting conclusion will extend additional three days or four, said spokesman Sharma.
Mahasamiti members continue putting their view on reports related to party’s politics, organisation, whole economy and internal economy. There will be 85-member central committee, and of the members, a president, a general-secretary and a joint general-secretary will be nominated, according to the statute.